Let Us Talk

May 30, 2008

Video: Father Michael Pfleger at Trinity Church

Below is a link to the video showing Father Michael Pfleger this past weekend at Trinity Church while Obama was in Puerto Rico.

 

I am sure that it is going to be difficult, but this is going to make it easier for Obama to distance himself from Trinity going forward.

 

I am beginning to get tired of ALL these “Fathers”, “Pastors” and “Ministers” in this campaign.  It seems to me that they are all looking for ‘book deals’.  I want to hear what the candidates have to say.  Hillary crying was in February.  It’s now May – almost June.  Let’s move forward people.  Enough of this foolishness.  This doesn’t help me to put $4.17 per gallon gas in my car!

 

These are not Obama’s word’s these are the words of a “Father” he knows.  It shouldn’t matter that Obama has known him for over 10 years.  I have known people all my life that I love but who would make me look like satan himself based on their lifestyles.  I may love them but I don’t believe what they believe. I should be judged based on the way I live my life not the way people I know choose to live theirs.

 

I’ve worked for people and therefore received money from people whose philosophies and behavior I do not believe in at all – 0%.  This is the world we live in.  No matter how we try, we cannot protect ourselves from people we associate with who act or think differently than we do.  Otherwise we would live in a bubble and our social education would be incomplete and inadequate.

 

If Obama had thought 20 years ago that he would be running for the presidency of the United States he may not have associated himself with any of these characters.  Then again, it is association with characters like these that probably makes him want to bring people together and make America the country  its promises say it can be.  Without knowing and being able to understand the thinking of a diverse group of people Senator Obama would not be ready to lead ALL of America.  This is why George W. Bush was a colossal failure – he was one dimensional.  He didn’t understand Americans like me or like you.  “W” was like a horse with blinders on – he was insulated from the real world and real people’s problems and situations.  You cannot serve the people if you don’t understand the people.

 

In response to the sermon, Obama issued a statement saying:

“As I have traveled this country, I’ve been impressed not by what divides us, but by all that that unites us. That is why I am deeply disappointed in Father Pfleger’s divisive, backward-looking rhetoric, which doesn’t reflect the country I see or the desire of people across America to come together in common cause.”

Father Pfleger issued an apology saying:

 “I regret the words I chose on Sunday. These words are inconsistent with Senator Obama’s life and message, and I am deeply sorry if they offended Senator Clinton or anyone else who saw them.”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_H11x6bMu4Y

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

